The Clean Water Act: Fundamentals and Effects on Forestry

Thursday, March 8, 2012
3:30 pm to 5:00 pm
107 Richardson Hall

Dr. O'Laughlin authored a summary of the Clean Water Act to explain things like non-point source pollution and total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) to natural resource managers and policymakers in Idaho.  He'll provide an overview of water quality protection policies in the Pacific Northwest and beyond, including discussion of voluntary vs. regulatory forestry Best Management Practices programs.

Jay O’Laughlin is Professor of Forestry & Policy Sciences at the University of Idaho and, since 1989, the full-time Director of the College of Natural Resources Policy Analysis group.  He earned M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in forestry from the University of Minnesota and a business finance degree from the University of Denver. He served as a U.S. Army artillery officer in Vietnam and then spent three years in a manufacturing business before enrolling in forestry school. Before moving to Idaho in 1989 he was a faculty member in the Dept. of Forest Science at Texas A&M University, specializing in forestry economics and policy and earning tenure. His job at the University of Idaho was created by the Idaho Legislature to provide objective analysis of natural resource issues suggested by an advisory committee of the state’s natural resource leaders. He has published many policy analyses, including water quality best management practices, endangered species conservation, sustainable forest management, wood bioenergy, and wildfire management policy (see http://www.cnrhome.uidaho.edu/pag).

He has been a member since 2004 of the Western Governors’ Association Forest Health Advisory Committee, currently chairs the Forestry/Biomass Task Force for the Idaho Governor’s Strategic Energy Alliance, and, since 1997, has chaired the Forest Policy Committee of the Inland Empire Society of American Foresters. He received the University of Idaho’s highest award for Faculty Excellence in Outreach, and in 2010 the Society of American Foresters’ Award in Forest Science for distinguished individual research in managerial and social sciences leading to advances in forestry.